Masterworks IV – Bach, Glazunov, Hübler, Hindemith

Loading Events

Jonathan Bergeron, alto saxophone soloist

Charles Latshaw, conductor and music director

Johann Sebastian Bach – Fantasia and Fugue in C minor, BWV 537 tr. by Sir Edward Elgar
Alexander Glazunov – Saxophone Concerto in E flat major, op 109 (Jonathan Bergeron, Saxophone)
Carl Heinrich Hübler – Concerto for Four Horns in F major (Bayres Horns, soloists)
Paul Hindemith – Symphonic Metamorphosis of Themes by Carl Maria von Weber

Bach’s organ Fantasia and Fugue was transcribed for orchestra by British composer Elgar “to show how gorgeous and great and brilliant he would have made himself sound if he had had our means.” The saxophone concerto by Glazunov, described as “a free rhapsody,” is played by Flagstaff’s Jonathan Bergeron, Associate Professor at Northern Arizona University. Robert Schumann inspired Carl Heinrich Hübler to write a Concerto for Four Horns in F major after he listened to a private performance of Konzertstück. Hübler’s Concerto for Four Horns will be performed by Bayres Horn ensemble, a notable Argentinian horn quartet. Members include Fernando Chiappero, Christian Morabito, Luis Martino, and Federico Schneebeli. Hindemith arranged piano music by Weber for a ballet; it was later choreographed as the well-known “Metamorphoses” by George Balanchine for the New York City Ballet.

All concerts begin at 7:30 p.m. in Ardrey Memorial Auditorium on the campus of Northern Arizona University.
Concerts are preceded at 6:30 p.m. by a Conversation with the Conductor, giving the audience the opportunity to speak with the conductor and guest soloist(s) about the evening’s program.

Ticket available at: or call 523-5661