Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Masterworks II – Williams, Vivaldi, Tchaikovsky, Grieg

October 26, 2018 @ 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Jung-min Amy Lee, violin soloist

Charles Latshaw, conductor and music director

Ralph Vaughan Williams – Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Antonio Vivaldi – The Four Seasons
Peter Tchaikovsky – Serenade for Strings in C major, op. 48
Edvard Grieg – Holberg Suite, op. 40

This program features the FSO’s strings, with Jung-min Amy Lee, Associate Concertmaster of the Cleveland Orchestra, in The Four Seasons by Vivaldi. Vaughan Williams’s Fantasia borrows the English Renaissance music of Tallis. Of his Serenade, Tchaikovsky wrote, “The larger number of players in the string orchestra, the more this shall be in accordance with the author’s wishes.” Student string players from Flagstaff schools will join FSO to create the lush sound of an expanded string ensemble.

All concerts begin at 7:30 p.m. in Ardrey Memorial Auditorium on the campus of Northern Arizona University.
Concerts are preceded at 6:30 p.m. by a Conversation with the Conductor, giving the audience the opportunity to speak with the conductor and guest soloist(s) about the evening’s program.

Ticket available at: https://goo.gl/QTw86W or call 523-5661


October 26, 2018
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Event Category:


NAU Ardrey Memorial Auditorium
1115 S Knoles Dr
Flagstaff, AZ 86011 United States
+ Google Map