Meet Our Team

Administration Staff

Larry Lang

Executive Director

Larry H. Lang is the new Executive Director of the Flagstaff Symphony Orchestra in Flagstaff, AZ. He has a distinguished career as a music executive, military commander, conductor, producer and educator. During his 30-year military career, Lang led five Air Force bands, culminating as Commander and Conductor of the United States Air Force’s premier musical organization in Washington, DC, from 2012 to 2019. He has led events for five U.S. Presidents, numerous foreign dignitaries, Congressional leaders, senior Department of Defense officials, and served as a key advisorto Air Force senior leaders on the use of music to demonstrate excellence and build positive community and diplomatic relations around the globe.

Originally from El Paso, Texas, Lang is a graduate of New Mexico State University where he received degrees in Music Performance (Trombone) and Music Education in 1980. He received his Masters degree in Music Education from the University of New Hampshire in 1982 and joined the faculty there the same year. He went on to serve as the Assistant Director of Bands at McNeese State University in Lake Charles, LA from 1983 to 1989. Lang was commissioned as an officer and bandleader in the U.S. Air Force in 1990 and has served across the globe, including deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan to support U.S. and allied troops and develop positive international relationships.

Lang has produced and performed in multiple Emmy and Telly Award-winning productions for NBC, PBS, and many other broadcast organizations. Known for his innovation, he created numerous online music videos including the Air Force Band’s popular holiday “flashmobs” that became viral sensations and reached over 75 million viewers worldwide. He has also been the Executive Producer for over 50 recordings in almost every music genre, released on several major labels and widely distributed on commercial streaming services.

In 2005, he was honored with membership in the prestigious American Bandmasters Association, the professional association of master conductors and composers; considered the highest honor achievable by an American bandsman. His musical leadership has been recognized three times by The John Philip Sousa Foundation with a Colonel George S. Howard Citation Award for Musical Excellence, the highest international award for military concert bands and conductors. He is in high demand as a conductor-clinician, conducting music ensembles and teaching around the world.

Lang assumed his current position as Executive Director of the Flagstaff Symphony Orchestra in June of 2019 as the Symphony kicked off its 70th anniversary season.

Elizabeth Vogler

Office and Operations Manager

Elizabeth Vogler joined the Flagstaff Symphony Orchestra as the Office and Operations Manager in August 2019. She has served in nonprofit management for the last decade in Flagstaff, bringing a wealth of valuable experience to the FSO.

Elizabeth landed in Flagstaff from the east coast after graduating with a degree in Sociology from Ithaca College in New York. She continued her studies at Northern Arizona University, earning her Masters Degree in Cultural Anthropology in 2007. Establishing a career in the non-profit sector, Elizabeth served as the Assistant Director at the Arboretum at Flagstaff, and then as Deputy Director of the Flagstaff Arts Council from 2013-2019. She has developed and produced numerous programs in the arts, including exhibitions and visual displays, theater and performing arts events, concerts, festivals, and fundraisers.

Elizabeth is thrilled to join the FSO as it begins its 70th anniversary season. Outside of the FSO, she teaches daily fitness classes at local gyms, competes in triathlons, and walks her three dogs as often as they pull out their leashes.

MaryAnne Bruner

Music Librian

MaryAnne Bruner joins the staff of the Flagstaff Symphony Orchestra as Music Librarian. She began her musical studies in San Antonio, TX, playing piano from an early age and cello from age 9. She holds degrees from the University of Kansas (Bachelor of Music in Cello & Music Theory), Cleveland Institute of Music (Master of Music in Cello Performance) and The University of Texas (Doctor of Musical Arts in Cello Performance).

Dr. Bruner has played professionally for over 40 years, including the Kansas Little Symphony, New Cleveland (OH) Opera Orchestra, Austin (TX) Symphony Orchestra (19 seasons) and Austin Lyric Opera Orchestra (10 seasons). She has been a member of the cello section with the Flagstaff Symphony Orchestra since 1997. Additionally, she has been a soloist and chamber musician performing in Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, the Aspen (CO) Music Festival, and at venues in Germany, Austria, and Poland.

Dr. Bruner’s teaching experience also spans more than four decades, including private cello lessons, chamber music, and music theory. She has developed numerous traditional and online college courses, has multiple print and electronic publications and CDs to her credit, and has offered international master classes, as well as workshop presentations in Texas and Arizona. In the past 30+ years she has been widely sought as an adjudicator and clinician, with eighteen years of college-level teaching in Texas and Arizona, followed by fourteen years at a nationally-ranked charter school (grades 6-12). Her string and full orchestras have earned Gold and Superior recognitions in many competitions around the southwest.

Cindy Binkley

Orchestra Personnel Manager

A lifelong resident of Flagstaff, Cindy began violin study at age 9, and added viola study three years later. She has a Bachelor of Music Education degree from Northern Arizona University. Cindy has performed with the NAU Symphony, NAU Chamber and Opera Orchestras, and the Flagstaff Light Opera Company. She is currently a player with the Flagstaff Symphony Orchestra, Southwest Consort Chamber Ensemble and is the principal violist with the Verde Valley Sinfonietta. Cindy is a founding member of the Dark Skies String Quartet.

Board of Directors

Ann Johnson, President
Jude Mack, Vice President
Nathan Schott, Secretary
Tim Dodt, Treasurer

Hanna Cortner
Nancy Lowe
Connie McDonald
Molly Munger
Mary Nebel
Stephanie Stallings
Todd Sullivan
Brian Wallace
Phyllis Wolfskill

Directors Emeritus
Irene Alpert
Elizabeth Archuleta
Beverly Armstrong
Edward Bowell
Irene Croft
John Cummings
Will Duncan
Kathleen Franklin
Mary Hostetler
Lela Montfort
Bill Morrison
Richard Neville
Hal Stern *In Memoriam
Carl Taylor
Peter Wainwright
Tom Ward
Jean Wilcox
Please bring omissions to our attention.